Thread poster: Michael Marcoux
Michael Marcoux
Michael Marcoux  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:00
Russian to English
+ ...
Jan 26, 2015

I've been a freelance translator for nearly 2 years now. You'd think 2 years of running your own business while living on your own would be enough to convince people that you, indeed, are doing something productive and making a decent living. But lo! Family, friends, and relatives constantly bombard me with negativity - not so much with regards to the freelance part, but to the translation part, which is complete anathema to them. In fact, most people I run into seem to think that translation is... See more
I've been a freelance translator for nearly 2 years now. You'd think 2 years of running your own business while living on your own would be enough to convince people that you, indeed, are doing something productive and making a decent living. But lo! Family, friends, and relatives constantly bombard me with negativity - not so much with regards to the freelance part, but to the translation part, which is complete anathema to them. In fact, most people I run into seem to think that translation is neither a job, nor a career. Either Google Translate will eliminate me, or there's no opportunity for career advancement, or working from home is something that people with mommy blogs do to earn pocket change on the side...etc.

Do you encounter opinions like these, or do people hold you in high esteem? Perhaps it's just an American thing?...
Collapse

Sophie Thereau (X)
Sophie Thereau (X)
France
Local time: 11:00
English to French
"So you're an ignorant? When are you getting a real brain?" Jan 26, 2015

Is what you could answer to these people if they p*** you off too much.