Agencies insisting you use a particular CAT tool
Thread poster: Paris Brooker
Paris Brooker
Paris Brooker  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:16
Turkish to English
May 3, 2015

I've had this with a few agencies; they insist that I complete the job with a particular CAT tool. Does anyone else find this as irritating as I do? I've made the investment of time and money to learn my CAT tool (Trados in my case), only then to have agencies insist I use one of their choosing (Matecat and Across recently). I get that this is a Project Management issue, but having to install/become familiar with a new piece of software is a drain on my time and productivity. Thoughts...?

cranium
cranium
French to English
+ ...
That's a first May 3, 2015

I've only had the opposite problem, with some clients insisting on Trados when I have Wordfast... I have no experience with the CATs you mention, but my Trados-using clients convert their TM to a .tmx and I can use it in WF. I wonder if you could suggest that for Across and Matecat?

Yasutomo Kanazawa
Yasutomo Kanazawa  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 15:16
Member (2005)
English to Japanese
+ ...
Been there many times May 3, 2015

Yes, I have the same experiences with agencies which insist on using other CAT tools.
In my case, I use Trados like you do. Up till now, I've come across MemoQ, Wordfast and other unknown CAT tools unique to one agency only which I've never heard of.

I've had cases where this particular agency which on and off gives me work assumes that I work with Wordfast (they don't even ask!) , and they send me a file which I cannot open (I forget the format's name) with Studio, so I hav
... See more
Yes, I have the same experiences with agencies which insist on using other CAT tools.
In my case, I use Trados like you do. Up till now, I've come across MemoQ, Wordfast and other unknown CAT tools unique to one agency only which I've never heard of.