Do I need to post documents to clients?
Thread poster: melanieww
melanieww
melanieww
Australia
Local time: 08:26
May 23, 2016

Hi, I'm very new to the freelance market (only started taking assignments last week...) and I've got some situation I'm not sure how to handle.
I took a one-page document translation job from an agency this morning and finished very quickly. As the document contains several Chinese names in English pronunciation, I just kept them in that way (you wouldn't know exact Chinese characters of names unless they've been shown in Chinese). The agency accepted the translation and paid the fee. But
... See more
Hi, I'm very new to the freelance market (only started taking assignments last week...) and I've got some situation I'm not sure how to handle.
I took a one-page document translation job from an agency this morning and finished very quickly. As the document contains several Chinese names in English pronunciation, I just kept them in that way (you wouldn't know exact Chinese characters of names unless they've been shown in Chinese). The agency accepted the translation and paid the fee. But just now I received an email from the agency providing the names in Chinese and asked me to finalise it and post it to the client's address. I'm just confused! Is this within the responsibility of freelancers? Do we need to post things to clients? Can I just tell the agency it's not my duty to post things?
Thanks a lot!
Collapse

Angela Malik
Angela Malik  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:26
German to English
+ ...
Odd and unprofessional May 23, 2016

Very odd that an agency would encourage direct contact between you and the client, especially by post where the agency cannot even monitor what you send the client. That is super risky and unprofessional as far as the agency is concerned.