Marie-ever
Marie-ever  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 15:13
English to French
+ ...
Oct 18, 2014

Hi translators and all the linguists!

I am a freelance translator and I'm thinking about buying a CAT software (like SDL, Wordfast, MultiTermPRISM, etc) but I don't know which one is the best for me. I need one that can provide some training in my city or close by (Montreal) to manage well my projects. What are your opinions on the different choices and what's best on the market according to your experience?

Many thanks!
M.E.R

Selcuk Akyuz
Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 22:13
English to Turkish
+ ...
there is no best one Oct 18, 2014

Or none of them is the best for all.

Firstly, it is not MultiTermPRISM but MultiCorpora Prism (AFAIK a server solution not for freelancers). Multitrans by the same company is for translators. Well, I have no experience with it.

What is your operating system? Windows, Mac or Linux?

SDL is the company, currently selling only SDL Trados Studio 2014. But if a client asks for Trados it can be anything Trados 2007 Workbench for Word, TagEditor, Studio 2009-2011-
... See more
Or none of them is the best for all.

Firstly, it is not MultiTermPRISM but MultiCorpora Prism (AFAIK a server solution not for freelancers). Multitrans by the same company is for translators. Well, I have no experience with it.

What is your operating system? Windows, Mac or Linux?

SDL is the company, currently selling only SDL Trados Studio 2014. But if a client asks for Trados it can be anything Trados 2007 Workbench for Word, TagEditor, Studio 2009-2011-2014 (and sometimes SDLX). They also have server solutions, WorldServer.

Wordfast comes with Classic, Professional and the cloud version Wordfast Anywhere.
Classic is a set of Word macros, Professional is a standalone java application. But these are completely different two programs. WF Anywhere is a free. - runs on Windows - Mac - Linux (not sure about Classic)