Choosing an online MA/translation course - Help!
Thread poster: Aideen Rodrigues
Aideen Rodrigues
Aideen Rodrigues  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 16:02
French to English
+ ...
Apr 15, 2014

I'm brand new to the world of translation and to this site, so apologies if I've posted in the wrong place. I'm hoping that some of you who are more experienced might be kind enough to give a total newbie some advice

In a nutshell, I'm trying to choose a course to get started as a translator. As I live in France and have two small children, my options are entirely limited to online courses. My experience to date b
... See more
I'm brand new to the world of translation and to this site, so apologies if I've posted in the wrong place. I'm hoping that some of you who are more experienced might be kind enough to give a total newbie some advice

In a nutshell, I'm trying to choose a course to get started as a translator. As I live in France and have two small children, my options are entirely limited to online courses. My experience to date briefly is this - 2.2 degree in French and Irish in 1994. Post-grad in Applied Communications (Broadcasting) 1996. 6 years working as a TV reporter in Irish and in English. 10 years working in PR (including a substantial amount of English to Irish translation). Living in France since 2009 - married to a French man and therefore living in an almost exclusively French-speaking environment. Experience in professional translation - nil!

I have been in touch with the Irish Translators' and Interpreters' Association and they pointed me in the direction of three online MAs - Bristol, Portsmouth and Birmingham. I have also been in touch with an IOL centre in Dublin (Words Language Services) who run their own course and/or the IOL Diploma course.