George Young  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:43
Member (2012)
French to English
+ ...
Feb 18, 2015

Hello,

I am a freelance translator, based in England. I may be relocating to Italy later this year and I am hoping to get some advice on taxation & other costs involved in setting up in Italy.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to find details of taxes applicable to freelancers, that would be really helpful. Do translators have to pay any taxes other than income tax and is VAT-registration mandatory?

Is it necessary to register with a professiona
... See more
Hello,

I am a freelance translator, based in England. I may be relocating to Italy later this year and I am hoping to get some advice on taxation & other costs involved in setting up in Italy.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to find details of taxes applicable to freelancers, that would be really helpful. Do translators have to pay any taxes other than income tax and is VAT-registration mandatory?

Is it necessary to register with a professional/trade association? If so, what is the appropriate one for translators?

I expect it will be much easier to employ an accountant, rather than relying on my own understanding of Italian taxation, how much should I expect to pay for completing my tax return?

With regard to healthcare, can anyone provide any guidance on exactly what is covered by the state healthcare system and roughly what I could expect to pay for supplementary insurance?

Thanks very much for any advice provided!

George
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Italian forum Feb 18, 2015

Unfortunately there isn't a forum for working in Italy, but there is one in the Italian language: http://www.proz.com/forum/italian-26.html. It's clear that a lot of the topics there are to discuss just this type of question. You're lucky - you're moving to a country where you speak the language, unlike me.

I can tel