Lisa Böhm
Lisa Böhm
Spain
Local time: 15:00
English to German
+ ...
Apr 29, 2015

Hi everybody

I have just come across this forum, read in some posts and found them very helpful. This is the first time I post in a forum, so here it goes.

I am currently studying Linguistics and Applied Languages in my second year in university (in a 4 year programme). I've become interested (again) in interpreting and translating and after searching over the past weeks, I've got some questions coming up.

To clarify my history with languages, I am native G
... See more
Hi everybody

I have just come across this forum, read in some posts and found them very helpful. This is the first time I post in a forum, so here it goes.

I am currently studying Linguistics and Applied Languages in my second year in university (in a 4 year programme). I've become interested (again) in interpreting and translating and after searching over the past weeks, I've got some questions coming up.

To clarify my history with languages, I am native German with a bilingual level of English. (Am teaching it at the moment with a TEFL qualification). I am studying in Spanish and my level's probably around C1 in the Common European Reference Frame. Additionally, trying to get somewhere with French (currently on a B2 level) and also having Russian lessons at school (have to admit that even though I love the classes, I'm still moving around an A2 level only).

Interpreting and translating has been one of my first career wishes / dreams I've had, even as a child I found the idea immensely interesting. However, after hearing lots of comments along the lines of "you're not native bilingual, you'll never have a chance" and "interpreting is not a *real* job", I talked myself into forgetting the idea.

Now recently I have stumbled across the official EU page and have since then kinda turned crazy for it again. Here are my ideas: