Thread poster: sylvie29
sylvie29
sylvie29  Identity Verified
Morocco
Local time: 17:37
English to French
+ ...
Aug 24, 2014

I have been a translator for more years that I care to remember. I see the rates going down every year, not to mention post-editing which is total nonsense. I have lost many customers fighting for my rights. I think a Master in languages and over 20 years of experience give me some standing. On my own, I'll never get anywhere, it is obvious. So I am hoping that you, my professional colleagues, will get in touch and that we will get our profession recognised and appreciated. Thanks

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:37
Russian to English
+ ...
You are absolutely right. It will eventually stop Aug 24, 2014

when most companies find out what nonsensical texts they get for the low price. Translation is a highly complex activity, and it cannot be cheap. Even Google uses well-paid, human transaltors to translate all the documents related to their Google Translate.

[Edited at 2014-08-24 15:49 GMT]

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
German to English
There's no floor Aug 24, 2014

Customers I've had for decades are asking me to lower the prices I haven't changed since starting with them.

There are, in fact, several translation markets. Prices have remained more or less stable at the upper end, highly-specialized segment. In my experience, the middle segments are less stable with some price slippage and no increases; that is, if you hope to increase your rate, you generally have to find a new customer. The bottom segment, where, I suspect, much of the work is,
... See more
Customers I've had for decades are asking me to lower the prices I haven't changed since starting with them.