rates - translation of a software
Thread poster: MillaSol
MillaSol
MillaSol
United States
English to Portuguese
Sep 22, 2014

Hello,

I'm a recent translator and I have a couple of questions regarding the translation of a software. I've received a request to quote a translation of this software from English into Portuguese. It is basically about psychological questions to the clients of this company. It seams that it would take me around 250 hrs to do it and the deadline is December. It is around 100.000 words (35/ 40 pages).

I'm wondering if it's usual to charge per hour, per word or per page
... See more
Hello,

I'm a recent translator and I have a couple of questions regarding the translation of a software. I've received a request to quote a translation of this software from English into Portuguese. It is basically about psychological questions to the clients of this company. It seams that it would take me around 250 hrs to do it and the deadline is December. It is around 100.000 words (35/ 40 pages).

I'm wondering if it's usual to charge per hour, per word or per page. I've heard that U$0.10/ word is reasonable. Also, I'd like to know if it's usual to sign a contract between the translator and the company that requests the service.

They asked me to find a proofreader. In this case, should I pay the proofreader or it should be the company's responsibility?

Thank you,

M.A.
Collapse

Andrea Halbritter
Andrea Halbritter  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:38
French to German
+ ...
How I would handle the project Sep 22, 2014

Hello,

concerning translation (except for literature and transcreation) I propose a rate per word. I think this is the most frequent.