How to charge for linguistic consultancy/Project management services when already offering Translation services
Thread poster: Claire Fumoleau-Itani
Claire Fumoleau-Itani
Claire Fumoleau-Itani  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:10
English to French
+ ...
Dec 18, 2014

Hello ProZ members,

I hope you'll be able to help me with this one.

I have been offering translation services to a client for about 5 years now. This person happens to be my childhood friend's husband, which makes it a bit delicate sometimes but anyway, this is not the question here...

The work involves translating real advert ads. It is very repetitive and tedious and has to be done over the week-end but it is regular and the workload is steadily increasin
... See more
Hello ProZ members,

I hope you'll be able to help me with this one.

I have been offering translation services to a client for about 5 years now. This person happens to be my childhood friend's husband, which makes it a bit delicate sometimes but anyway, this is not the question here...

The work involves translating real advert ads. It is very repetitive and tedious and has to be done over the week-end but it is regular and the workload is steadily increasing.
We started off at a standard translation rate with 2 magazines, then when they introduced another magazine, he asked for a discount and I (foolishly) offered a 15% discount, which places my rate under the minimum rate found on Proz for this combination.

Over the last year, he has been increasingly consulting me (i.e. to come up with the name of a new magazine, to advise him on how to best deal with UK-based clients) and now I am finding myself liaising with the developer of the new real estate platform software to see how to translate the ads seamlessly AND setting up a team of translators to cope with the exponential volume (that just got multiplied by 3 with 3 new magazines).

I can't possibly do all this for the current translation rate.