Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Fuzzy matches - the effects of percentage reductions.
Thread poster: Simon Taylor (X)
Simon Taylor (X)
Simon Taylor (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:24
Italian to English
Aug 24, 2016

Hello,

First, a confession. I am very new to the world of translation, so this (and subsequent questions) may seem, at best, naive and, at worst, downright silly. But I'm going to ask anyway. You may judge me accordingly.

Fuzzy matches/repetitions and so on.

I understand that there is an expectation in certain quarters for reductions in fees for fuzzy matches/repetitions when using CAT tools and TMs. I've seen various topics covering what percentages to
... See more
Hello,

First, a confession. I am very new to the world of translation, so this (and subsequent questions) may seem, at best, naive and, at worst, downright silly. But I'm going to ask anyway. You may judge me accordingly.

Fuzzy matches/repetitions and so on.

I understand that there is an expectation in certain quarters for reductions in fees for fuzzy matches/repetitions when using CAT tools and TMs. I've seen various topics covering what percentages to use for the varying closeness of match. However, I've seen nothing on how much these reductions affect what's charged as a result of agreeing to reductions for matches. I've used the ProZ calculator to work out a base rate per source word, looked at the prevailing information on the market, and set my rate accordingly. Reductions for matches are new to me.

E.g. Assume a 2,000 word project and a base rate of 0.08 per source word. An agency requests a reduction of fees based on a sliding scale of match from, say, -30% to -90%. What is the definition of a match? A word? A sentence? Or an entire TU in the CAT? Given the fact that two translators may translate the same word or sentence in two completely different yet correct ways, defining what is and isn't a match seems subjective.