Off topic: Training for Managers
Thread poster: Doreen Stacey
Doreen Stacey
Doreen Stacey
United States
Jul 29, 2015

I just got promoted and I’m now a manager *takes a bow* . Now my question is this, is it too much if I ask the management to give me some training regarding supervision of my staff. I know they have faith in me that is why they gave me the job but personally I want to improve my coaching skills especially now that I have 4-6 staff members to handle. I’ve been self-studying and ... See more
I just got promoted and I’m now a manager *takes a bow* . Now my question is this, is it too much if I ask the management to give me some training regarding supervision of my staff. I know they have faith in me that is why they gave me the job but personally I want to improve my coaching skills especially now that I have 4-6 staff members to handle. I’ve been self-studying and after reading this article http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/6456-new-manager-tips.html I’m convinced that I really need a seminar/training regarding this. So what can you say guys? Is it a go or a no?Collapse

James McVay
James McVay  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:19
Russian to English
+ ...
Congratulations! But definitely get some training Jul 30, 2015

I was promoted to a management/supervisory position after about 25 years as a non-managerial employee. My advice is to get training on how to be a supervisor as quickly as you can. Unexpected problems will crop up very quickly, and you will need to have some tools to help you deal with them. For example, you may find yourself having to deal with hostility among your employees and even hostility from one or more of your employees. Very likely, nothing in your experience as an employee will have p... See more