Translation Certification
Thread poster: Daniel Hill
Daniel Hill
Daniel Hill
Canada
Local time: 12:24
Jan 6, 2014

Hello everyone. For the past few months I have been trying, unsuccessfully, to get into the French to English translation industry. While I do have a few fields in my background one could consider specialties, I have very little experience in the field of translation itself (and even that is mostly editing). What's more, I have no form of degree or certification in this field.

So my questions are about certification programs, particularly online ones:

-Are they generall
... See more
Hello everyone. For the past few months I have been trying, unsuccessfully, to get into the French to English translation industry. While I do have a few fields in my background one could consider specialties, I have very little experience in the field of translation itself (and even that is mostly editing). What's more, I have no form of degree or certification in this field.

-Are they generally recognized in the field (as opposed to say, a university degree)?
-Do they typically help a newbie get jobs?
-And of course, are there any good ones for French to English in particular? (I have seen a few for English to French, but none for the reverse for far.)

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated. This is a field I have been interested in for many years now, but I have never been able to make a go of it. Languages are my greatest passion, and that is something I hope to one day bring to the industry.
Collapse

Florian Wollenschein
Florian Wollenschein  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 17:24
Member (2013)
English to German
+ ...
Hi Daniel Jan 6, 2014

Hi Daniel,

All your questions look familiar to me. But as far as I know, certificates do not really help much in landing jobs.

You need to gain experience in translating. However, how shall you gain experience if you do not get jobs!? For a beginner that is the crucial question.