susieqcog
susieqcog
Ireland
Local time: 22:13
French to English
+ ...
Feb 12, 2016

Dear all,

I am currently undertaking a masters in Translation Studies and yesterday I received some disappointing and rather shocking exam results. Last semester I studied French translation of general texts such as newspaper articles, etc. and German economic translation. I consistently did quite well throughout the semester, usually scoring in the region of 62-68% and generally receiving positive feedback on my translation skills. I personally felt my skills were developing also,
... See more
Dear all,

I am currently undertaking a masters in Translation Studies and yesterday I received some disappointing and rather shocking exam results. Last semester I studied French translation of general texts such as newspaper articles, etc. and German economic translation. I consistently did quite well throughout the semester, usually scoring in the region of 62-68% and generally receiving positive feedback on my translation skills. I personally felt my skills were developing also, and I was getting more and more confident about translation. I also managed to get taken on by two translation agencies after passing translation tests for both. However after receiving grades of 54% and 57% in my German and French translation modules respectively, I just feel totally disheartened and am concerned that after three months of training at university I only managed to score in the 50s.

I really hope I'm not coming across as slightly immature in this post, or as someone who just wants an all A report card, but I'm just feeling very discouraged. What makes a good translator? Have I overestimated my competencies?

I would greatly appreciate any insights.
Thanks
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 04:13
English to Thai
+ ...
Learning curves Feb 14, 2016

susieqcog wrote: