How to translate a Word table in Trados as a bilingual file?
Thread poster: Agnieszka Jabłońska
Agnieszka Jabłońska
Agnieszka Jabłońska  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:32
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 21, 2014

Hello,
I apologise, as this is a very basic question, but I'm not so advanced with Trados myself..

I have an English master document with text in a table, the translation must be inserted in the Target column, and the document must be delivered with both Source and Target columns visible.

When I translate it in Trados and then convert it back into Word, the Source text is *replaced* with the Target language.

Is there any way to process the file in ord
... See more
Hello,
I apologise, as this is a very basic question, but I'm not so advanced with Trados myself..

I have an English master document with text in a table, the translation must be inserted in the Target column, and the document must be delivered with both Source and Target columns visible.

When I translate it in Trados and then convert it back into Word, the Source text is *replaced* with the Target language.

Is there any way to process the file in order to end up with the Word document with the Source text and Target text both visible, in 2 separate columns?

As far as I got to is to copy the Source text into the Target column, then 'lock' all text except the one in Target column - using the Protect Document function. But this has not worked, the Source text gets replaced, as well as the Target.

Am I doing it wrong, or is there another way of doing it? I know it's possible....
I'll be grateful for your advice!
Thank you
A.j.
Collapse

Luca Vaccari
Luca Vaccari  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 03:32
Swedish to Italian
+ ...
Cut&paste after cleanup Jan 21, 2014