Thread poster: Worder Company
Worder Company
Worder Company
Russian Federation
Local time: 22:58
Russian to English
+ ...
Apr 14, 2014

I am pre-reading a source and need to place a couple of comments in the source in trados 2014. Is there any way to do that?

Naturally, I can add a term, so that I will get a term look-up, when working in the relevant segment, but I have an extensive termbase -- seriously cluttered -- so I am bound not to get this message at once.

P.S.

I am pre-reading large portions of text (ca 20 pages), so making up a list would not do.

It is not feasible
... See more
I am pre-reading a source and need to place a couple of comments in the source in trados 2014. Is there any way to do that?

Naturally, I can add a term, so that I will get a term look-up, when working in the relevant segment, but I have an extensive termbase -- seriously cluttered -- so I am bound not to get this message at once.

P.S.

I am pre-reading large portions of text (ca 20 pages), so making up a list would not do.

It is not feasible to just write a comment in the target, since an average segment contains ca 500 symbols.
Collapse

merinber (X)
merinber (X)
Germany
Local time: 20:58
German to English
Comments in source Apr 15, 2014

That would be a nice feature, but, to my knowledge, it doesn't exist. I suppose you could make comments for the entire file and then write something like #5 - Inncorrect use of word. #5 would refer to the segment nnumber.
Definitely not elegant, but better than nothing(?)

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
Comments in source docs Apr 15, 2014

I know you're not exactly asking this, but if you have the original file, you can add a comment and Studio will process it.

If it's a docx file, go to tools>options>filetypes>Word 2007-2013>Common and select "Extract comments as Studio comments" (so they don't show as translatable segments).

HTH,
Emma

RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom