Worder Company
Worder Company
Russian Federation
Local time: 04:53
Russian to English
+ ...
Apr 17, 2014

This post provides a solutions for the case:

When you open the word in trados and get this message.

Copy the contents of the file, open a new word, copy and paste the contents in the new file. When copying the contents, use the button "keep original formatting". This would solve the problem.

Question:

I have visually checked the file and I have not seen any changes. I am not very good with formatting.

Does this mean that I wil
... See more
This post provides a solutions for the case:

When you open the word in trados and get this message.

Copy the contents of the file, open a new word, copy and paste the contents in the new file. When copying the contents, use the button "keep original formatting". This would solve the problem.

Question:

I have visually checked the file and I have not seen any changes. I am not very good with formatting.

Does this mean that I will retain all formatting -- I have 100 files and I do not want to check and (or) edit formatting, if something goes wrong. Anyway, I have checked it across 10 files and can see no changes whatsoever.

If there is a risk of such changes, should I use secure sdlxliff? Have u used it? Are there any other methods to tackle this issue?
Collapse

Hamid Aydin
Hamid Aydin  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 04:53
Member (2008)
English to Turkish
+ ...
Another option Apr 18, 2014

Hi Andrew,

Another option is to change the file extension in Word e.g. from *.doc into *.docx or vice versa. I have been using this method, and it was helpful.

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

tw4winMark when opening a file

Wordfast Pro
Translation Memory Software for Any Platform