Thread poster: Mathieu Fortin
Mathieu Fortin
Mathieu Fortin
Canada
Local time: 11:41
English to French
Jan 26, 2015

Hi,

I have a simple termbase: 2 languages (English, French) and a client field.

I prefer to edit my termbase in Excel: i find it's faster than adding every term in Multiterm. For one English term, I sometimes have multiple French terms, to accommodate different clients. So in Excel, I have would have this (I would put an image but I'm not sure how):

English French Client

Term Translation1 cl
... See more
Hi,

I have a simple termbase: 2 languages (English, French) and a client field.

I prefer to edit my termbase in Excel: i find it's faster than adding every term in Multiterm. For one English term, I sometimes have multiple French terms, to accommodate different clients. So in Excel, I have would have this (I would put an image but I'm not sure how):

English French Client

Term Translation1 client1
Term Translation2 client2

When I import it in Multiterm, I use "merge entries" to merge the synonyms under "TERM", which works fine with Trados.

Here is the problem. When I export to a tab delimited file from Multiterm, I only get one line for "TERM", and only 1 synonym, "Translation1". I lose all synonyms in the process.

I just spent a couple hours looking around and I just can't seem to find anything useful about exporting synonyms. Maybe my whole approach is wrong?

Any help is appreciated, thanks!
Collapse

RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:41
English
Use the Glossary Converter... Jan 26, 2015

... this will make the process to/from Excel much easier for you: http://www.translationzone.com/openexchange/app/glossaryconverter-476.html#46146

It's a drag and drop as shown here: http://youtu.be/2HFAMiPbQJs and will work with 2011.

Regards... See more
... this will make the process to/from Excel much easier for you: http://www.translationzone.com/openexchange/app/glossaryconverter-476.html#46146