Thread poster: Masoud Kakouli Varnousfaderani
Masoud Kakouli Varnousfaderani
Masoud Kakouli Varnousfaderani  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 14:35
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Jan 27, 2015

I am relatively new to computer-assisted translation such as SDL Trados. I installed SDL Trados and read the pertinent help files. I imported a file to translate but I ran into a problem. The software could not isolate the sentences correctly. I mean the software does not breaks the sentence correctly and cannot place the whole sentence into one source text segment. For e.g, the software breaks the sentence in the middle of the sentence and not at the end of the sentence. I also could not find a... See more
I am relatively new to computer-assisted translation such as SDL Trados. I installed SDL Trados and read the pertinent help files. I imported a file to translate but I ran into a problem. The software could not isolate the sentences correctly. I mean the software does not breaks the sentence correctly and cannot place the whole sentence into one source text segment. For e.g, the software breaks the sentence in the middle of the sentence and not at the end of the sentence. I also could not find a way to edit the sentence manually and place the whole sentence into one source text segment. What can I do to solve the issue? Should I do anything before importing the files? Can I edit the sentences manually? Note that I ran into this issue for a few sentences or even less than that.

[Edited at 2015-01-27 15:16 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-01-27 15:17 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-01-27 15:18 GMT]
Collapse

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:35
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
Hard returns? Jan 27, 2015

What source file format are you processing?

If it's Word or Ppt, you'll probably find that there are hard returns (carriage returns) at the end of some lines and Studio uses these to segment the text.