HELP! After Restarting computer, SDL opens as if it is the first time....
Thread poster: Anne-Sophie Cardinal
Anne-Sophie Cardinal
Anne-Sophie Cardinal  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 03:58
Member (2007)
English to French
+ ...
Mar 12, 2015

Hello,

I have been using my SDL Trados (2011 studio version) for over 2 years now, and I have many projects completed with it.
I am experiencing laptop issues, and I had to restart it. When I launched SDL to get back to the project I am currently working on, it gives me the 'Getting started' wizard / assistant, as if it is the very first time I am using my software!

I am afraid to follow this configuration window because I fear I might lose any previous / current
... See more
Hello,

I have been using my SDL Trados (2011 studio version) for over 2 years now, and I have many projects completed with it.
I am experiencing laptop issues, and I had to restart it. When I launched SDL to get back to the project I am currently working on, it gives me the 'Getting started' wizard / assistant, as if it is the very first time I am using my software!

I am afraid to follow this configuration window because I fear I might lose any previous / current work, but I can't seem to avoid it. I tried opening the file from the folder (.sdlproj file), but still no success, as I am taken to the Getting Started / configuration for first time use page....

Anyone experience this as well int he past? What shall I do? Will I lose work, if I do all the first-time steps?

Thank you!!!!
Collapse

RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:58
English
You won't lose your work... Mar 12, 2015

... unless the laptop problems you experienced also deleted them from your Documents folder. If you go through the setup you should then be able to add your projects back in again, if they are not there automatically, by using the Open Project command to open the sdlproj files one by one.

Regards

Paul
SDL Community SupportSDL Community Support