Jeff Whittaker
Jeff Whittaker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:28
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 9, 2015

Only a few of my clients request that I use Trados and so therefore, I'm not a very proficient user.

I've been running into a very aggravating problem and I'm sure it's just a setting I have wrong.

When I translate, I go through multiple revisions, so I usually do not confirm segments until I am finished with the entire translation (except for obvious, one-word segments, numbers, etc.).

When a match or fuzzy match is found, Trados accurately notifies me and
... See more
Only a few of my clients request that I use Trados and so therefore, I'm not a very proficient user.

I've been running into a very aggravating problem and I'm sure it's just a setting I have wrong.

When I translate, I go through multiple revisions, so I usually do not confirm segments until I am finished with the entire translation (except for obvious, one-word segments, numbers, etc.).

When a match or fuzzy match is found, Trados accurately notifies me and I make the necessary changes and all is well.

However, once I'm finished and I go back and confirm the segments, Trados changes the text I've translated back to the confirmed matches.

Example:

Segment 120: THIS BEAUTIFUL TABLE IS RED.

Segment 230 [Fuzzy match]: THIS BEAUTIFUL TABLE IS {BLUE}.

----------

Then when I confirm segment 120, Trados changes Segment 230 (The table is blue) back to segment 120 match (the table is red), such that I have to go back and re-fix all of the non-100% matches.

Should I turn auto-propagation off before confirming segments?

If I confirm each segment as I go, by the time I'm done making revisions and corrections, I will end up with 20 different translations for each segment. Is there a way to tell Trados to only store the most recent translation in the TM and discard the others?

[Edited at 2015-10-09 15:55 GMT]
Collapse

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified