How can I create a TMX file after translating my document and creating an SDLTM.
Thread poster: Suzanne Reynolds
Suzanne Reynolds
Suzanne Reynolds  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:03
Chinese to English
Aug 24, 2016

I have been asked to deliver a TMX TM, but Trados produces SDLTM files - is there a means of producing a TMX file using Trados?

I have no doubt it's very very simple, but I'm a noob.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Best wishes,

Suzanne

Lianne van de Ven
Lianne van de Ven  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:03
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Use export function Aug 24, 2016

I am not sure without opening the software where this function is but there are several ways, I believe from project settings, selecting the tm and choose export button or right-click. You can also export from tm view after you open the tm. This will create a tmx.

Suzanne Reynolds
United Kingdom
Chinese to English
TOPIC STARTER
Exporting Aug 24, 2016

Hi Lianne,

Nice to meet you.

Thanks for your helpful reply.

Do you recommend exporting in this way after the translation is finished?

Thanks again

Suzanne

Suzanne Reynolds
United Kingdom
Chinese to English
TOPIC STARTER
Looking in project settings Aug 24, 2016

I cannot see the TM I created anywhere in project settings. Might this be because I didn't create a project rather just 'translate a single document'?

Thanks.

Lianne van de Ven
Lianne van de Ven  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:03
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Suggestions Aug 26, 2016

S_Reynolds wrote:

I cannot see the TM I created anywhere in project settings. Might this be because I didn't create a project rather just 'translate a single document'?

Thanks.

I am sorry I didn't see these updates. I need to change my forum settings, apparently.

Are you saying you translated a document without setting up a translation memory?