Eleonora Monoscalco
Eleonora Monoscalco
Italy
Local time: 03:23
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 24, 2015

Hello to everybody.
I am an Italian student willing to gradutate with a dissertation focused on the problems of dubbing foreign TV series into my language.
I would like to ask you some advice since I am not sure either to pick one TV series and focus on that particular one or to pick examples from different TV series (In this case, how many?).
My original idea was focusing on an English TV series never dubbed before in Italian, but some people are telling me that it could be
... See more
Hello to everybody.
I am an Italian student willing to gradutate with a dissertation focused on the problems of dubbing foreign TV series into my language.
I would like to ask you some advice since I am not sure either to pick one TV series and focus on that particular one or to pick examples from different TV series (In this case, how many?).
My original idea was focusing on an English TV series never dubbed before in Italian, but some people are telling me that it could be better to have an Italian version to compare mine with that one.
Also, my teacher doesn't want me to translate the whole TV series, but just some bits of it. The rest of the disseration will be talking about some difficulties of translating humour, cultural differences and maybe some made up expressions or dialects.
If you have some ideas - suggestions related to the TV series or to the books to read it would be really helpful for me.
For now, I have been thinking of Black Adder and Miranda as English TV series, or some more popular ones in the US (ex. According to Jim). For the bibliography I will start by reading The Language of Jokes: Analyzing Verbal Play; Delia Chiario, but I will have to find more books related to the issue.
Thank you very much for you help in advance.

Eleonora
Collapse

Max Deryagin
Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 06:23
Member (2013)
English to Russian