John Moran
John Moran  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 05:44
German to English
+ ...
Jan 19, 2014

Hi,

I am doing some research into translator productivity.

If I were a translator thinking about learning to touch type would that time investment pay off for me?

I am particularly interested in the hearing from anybody who has taught himself or herself to touch type and whether that person noticed any productivity gain in terms of words per day when translating.

p.s. I am also a translator and I cannot touch type so the question is not just ac
... See more
Hi,

If I were a translator thinking about learning to touch type would that time investment pay off for me?

I am particularly interested in the hearing from anybody who has taught himself or herself to touch type and whether that person noticed any productivity gain in terms of words per day when translating.

p.s. I am also a translator and I cannot touch type so the question is not just academic.
Collapse

Narcis Lozano Drago
Narcis Lozano Drago  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:44
Member (2007)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not just translation speed Jan 19, 2014

If you are looking for exact numbers for words per day productivity, I may not be able to help you, but yes, there is a noticeable increase in productivity AND quality, and not just in simple translation speed:

- Typing becomes much more comfortable and easy, so you can type for much longer without getting tired.
- You focus all your attention on the screen, not in the keyboard (not even peripheral vision.) You can focus in both the source text and the text that you are writi
... See more
If you are looking for exact numbers for words per day productivity, I may not be able to help you, but yes, there is a noticeable increase in productivity AND quality, and not just in simple translation speed:

- Typing becomes much more comfortable and easy, so you can type for much longer without getting tired.