Ethical dilemmas
Thread poster: SS AH
SS AH
SS AH
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 28, 2014

Greetings for everybody.

I am wondering if you can help me with your experience I am a novice and I would like to know some examples in real life at doing this task of interpreting regarding to ethics where you have to make a decision.
Case studies where you have to decide what to do.It does not matter what kind of task was requested by your client.

Thanks in advance.

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 06:39
Romanian to English
+ ...
ethical dilemma Aug 29, 2014

Hi,

Recently I had to interpret during the sentencing phase of a federal criminal case. I worked on this case since the 3 defendants were arrested and I interpreted for all three of them during different stages of criminal procedure. All three agreed to work with the prosecution in order to get a more lenient sentence.
Two of them helped somehow the investigating agency but the third one provided very valuable information. As a result of the information he provided, a crimin
... See more
Hi,

Recently I had to interpret during the sentencing phase of a federal criminal case. I worked on this case since the 3 defendants were arrested and I interpreted for all three of them during different stages of criminal procedure. All three agreed to work with the prosecution in order to get a more lenient sentence.
Two of them helped somehow the investigating agency but the third one provided very valuable information. As a result of the information he provided, a criminal group was arrested on the other coast of the country. I have to mention that during the „proffer” (when the defendant collaborates with the enforcement agents in the presence of the prosecutor) the prosecutor worked on other stuff and did not pay attention to the discussion.