Thread poster: Keziah Cooper
Keziah Cooper
Keziah Cooper
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:16
French to English
Apr 27, 2015

Hello!

Firstly, I'm sorry if this is posted in the wrong place - I had a good look around but I'm new to proz, so if this is an inappropriate post for this forum I'm sorry!

I'm translating some letters from French to English at the moment, and they're all quite old, and messily handwritten in ink which has spread and seeped into the page a bit. Unfortunately, I'm having trouble reading about 1 in 5 words - the handwriting style is messy but also unusual, with some capit
... See more
Hello!

Firstly, I'm sorry if this is posted in the wrong place - I had a good look around but I'm new to proz, so if this is an inappropriate post for this forum I'm sorry!

I'm translating some letters from French to English at the moment, and they're all quite old, and messily handwritten in ink which has spread and seeped into the page a bit. Unfortunately, I'm having trouble reading about 1 in 5 words - the handwriting style is messy but also unusual, with some capitals in the middle of words, some words squashed at the end of a line, and some words which just look like squiggles!

I was wondering if anyone knows any good resources for learning to read bad handwriting, or any strategies you use? I've googled it and found a few websites, but they tend to be explaining how to read French handwriting in general, rather than messy handwriting.

If anyone has any ideas I'd be very grateful!

Best wishes,
Keziah
Collapse

Lori Cirefice
Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 12:16
French to English
Some ideas Apr 28, 2015

Hopefully the surrounding context will help you, and you can also try these hints I found on the web:

https://help.familysearch.org/kb/UserGuide/fr/fsi/c_fsi_interpreting_difficult_handwriting.html

"Comparez la façon dont les mêmes lettres et chiffres sont écrits. Si une ou deux lettres sont difficiles à lire, ch
... See more