Thread poster: Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 19:36
Italian to English
Jul 14, 2016

Hello everyone!

So I know there have been a couple of threads already on this topic, but I see they are quite dated, going back to 2003.

http://www.proz.com/forum/translator_resources/13759-do_you_know_of_any_good_books_for_teaching_translation.html... See more
Hello everyone!

So I know there have been a couple of threads already on this topic, but I see they are quite dated, going back to 2003.

http://www.proz.com/forum/translator_resources/13759-do_you_know_of_any_good_books_for_teaching_translation.html

http://www.proz.com/forum/translator_resources/12465-what_is_the_best_book_you_have_read_on_translation-page2.html

I have more than 10 years' experience as a translator (Italian to English), so I'm not looking for a book to teach me "how to translate". Nor am I looking for something that's too "academic" or "textbook-like" in style, really just something that's engaging (perhaps "entertaining" is the wrong word???!!!) and reasonably easy to read, something that can help me gain a deeper understanding of the various features and translation-related phenomena that I keep coming up against in my work.

Sorry if I sound a bit clueless, but I really know nothing about translation theory or any related books, and it's a gap I'd like to fill.

Any suggestions gratefully received. My working fields are medicine and the arts, and my language combination is Italian to English, if it counts for anything.

Thank you!
Collapse

Andriy Yasharov
Andriy Yasharov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 20:36
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
Is That a Fish in Your Ear? Jul 14, 2016

One of my favourites is this book — Is That a Fish in Your Ear?: Translation and the Meaning of Everything
www.amazon.com/That-Fish-Your-Ear-Translation/dp/0865478767/
and then this one — Found in Translation: How Language Shapes Our Li