New to translating- which software/version to buy?
Thread poster: JanaW (X)
JanaW (X)
JanaW (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:09
French to English
+ ...
Jul 31, 2014

Hello all,
I am new to this field and so far all I have is Microsoft Word. Hoping for a recommendation for which translation program to purchase? Trados is the only one I've heard of, but there are several versions.
I am hoping to slowly build a career in translation over the course of a few years.
Thanks for any input.

Paulo Eduardo -  Pro Knowledge
Paulo Eduardo - Pro Knowledge  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 19:09
Member (2008)
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Start by the free ones and move on. Jul 31, 2014

http://www.my-across.net/en/translation-workbench.aspx

... See more
http://www.my-across.net/en/translation-workbench.aspx

http://www.wordfast.com/products_wordfast_anywhere.html

http://www.omegat.org/en/omegat.html

Just for starters.
Collapse

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 00:09
Spanish to English
+ ...
Bargepole Jul 31, 2014

I recommend Wordfast Classic . I also recommending avoiding Trados like the over-priced, over-complicated monster it is.

Yan Yuliang
Yan Yuliang  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:09
English to Chinese
+ ...
Trados, if you truly need one Jul 31, 2014

It is expensive, but the most widely used translation memory software ever.

I would disagree that it is over-complicated. It provides a lot of functions, but it takes only a couple of hours for you to master the basic operations, provided, of course, that you receive proper training.

I started using Trados 2007 six years ago, and have now moved on to Trados 2014. The latest version has a layout similar to Microsoft Windows. Just last month, I taught someone how to use T
... See more
It is expensive, but the most widely used translation memory software ever.