Thread poster: flora Yu
flora Yu
flora Yu  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:57
Japanese to Chinese
+ ...
May 5, 2015

Hi, I'm planning to buy a new machine for my work as the old one is crashing...

Since I have never used Mac before, I need your help to give me some suggestions. According to an article on KB on SDL, Trados should be installed on a VM in order to function properly.

Does any one use Mac for translation? I appreciate if you can share your experience!!!

BTW, I'm watching on Mac Air, is 4G RAM sufficient for running Trados and other office tools?

... See more
Hi, I'm planning to buy a new machine for my work as the old one is crashing...

Since I have never used Mac before, I need your help to give me some suggestions. According to an article on KB on SDL, Trados should be installed on a VM in order to function properly.

Does any one use Mac for translation? I appreciate if you can share your experience!!!

BTW, I'm watching on Mac Air, is 4G RAM sufficient for running Trados and other office tools?

Thanks in advance!!!
Collapse

Meta Arkadia
Meta Arkadia
Local time: 12:57
English to Indonesian
+ ...
BootCamp May 5, 2015

You will need to install Windows on the MBA to run Trados. You can either do that in a virtual machine (Parallels, VMWare, VirtualBox), or using Bootcamp. If you want to buy an MBA with 4 GB of RAM, only the BootCamp option is viable. It means that you don't have to buy and install a virtual machine (though VirtualBox is free), and that you can use all of your available RAM for Windows. This should be enough to run any CAT tool, although more RAM = better. Windows will use a swap file on your ha... See more