Thread poster: Leah Morano
Leah Morano
Leah Morano  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:55
German to English
+ ...
May 17, 2018

I have been working with a particular agency for a few months now, and lately, they have sent me more and more work. They are a small company and I have has some exchange with most members of their team. I have had a very nice working relationship with everyone that I am in contact with there and, in general, have been quite happy to be working more together. They pay relatively quickly.

There are, however, a few issues that I find difficult and I am unsure if they warrant discussi
... See more
I have been working with a particular agency for a few months now, and lately, they have sent me more and more work. They are a small company and I have has some exchange with most members of their team. I have had a very nice working relationship with everyone that I am in contact with there and, in general, have been quite happy to be working more together. They pay relatively quickly.

There are, however, a few issues that I find difficult and I am unsure if they warrant discussion. They are:

1) When they send me a request, I am never able to see the text in advance, nor can they give me a word count. They use the German "Normzeile" (standard line) "Normseite" (standard page) system where 1 standard page = 1650 characters including spaces (so roughly 180-210 words/page, as they calculate it). I receive a request for a certain number of standard pages.

The difficulty is that sometimes I open a document that should be one standard page, for example, but its 500 words. Other times its 58 words. And I don't know until I've committed to the project. This makes time management difficult. I have mentioned this to them and they claim that they use this method consistently and that there is no other way of doing it (they cannot send me the documents to review in advance for reasons of confidentiality).