Séverine Watson
Séverine Watson
France
Local time: 10:16
French to English
+ ...
Jan 30, 2020

Hi everyone,

After seven years as an in-house translator, I'm trying to make it into the world of freelancing.

I am very much aware that competition is fierce and that you may have to go down the route of tests/trials and possibly even a free translation in order to get your foot in the door. What I would like to know is, where to draw the line?

If it's a test, my gut feeling is that you can tell the quality of my work within 300-500 words. I've found a po
... See more
Hi everyone,

After seven years as an in-house translator, I'm trying to make it into the world of freelancing.

I am very much aware that competition is fierce and that you may have to go down the route of tests/trials and possibly even a free translation in order to get your foot in the door. What I would like to know is, where to draw the line?

If it's a test, my gut feeling is that you can tell the quality of my work within 300-500 words. I've found a potential avenue, but I'm being asked to translate 60 subtitles in the space of four hours - what I failed to ask at the time was what that meant in volume.

Do you think that this is excessive or is this standard practice?

Many thanks for your help.
Séverine
Collapse

Laurent Mercky

Laurent Mercky
Laurent Mercky
France
Chinese to French
+ ...
Not too much Jan 30, 2020

Hi

To make free trial translations is sometimes necessary or required by new clients.
However, a trial is ALWAYS very small and should not look like an entire document -- you may understand easily the reasons why.
For example, shouldn't exceed several lines or half a page or just 300 words.
If former clients request you to pass through trials again, just ask to be paid, with a lower rate of course.

Andrew Morris
Jorge Payan
Emmanuella Ozioma

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Séverine Jan 30, 2020