Nina Hiltunen
Nina Hiltunen
Sweden
Local time: 15:14
English to Swedish
+ ...
Feb 4, 2020

Hi there!
I am new in this business and the hardest thing so far is to set my rates. Would you say that the list found here on proz is a good guiding principle worth following? That the minimum rate for Eng-Swe is 0.1 USD and Ger-Swe 0.09 USD. Is there anyone who could advise me as to which rates to set in the beginning? It is very hard when you have no idea about possible incomes compared to the costs of the business either, so it is hard to calculate what would be a good balance.
... See more
Hi there!
I am new in this business and the hardest thing so far is to set my rates. Would you say that the list found here on proz is a good guiding principle worth following? That the minimum rate for Eng-Swe is 0.1 USD and Ger-Swe 0.09 USD. Is there anyone who could advise me as to which rates to set in the beginning? It is very hard when you have no idea about possible incomes compared to the costs of the business either, so it is hard to calculate what would be a good balance.

Thank you for your help, I appreciate it!

Kindly,
Nina
Collapse

Jorge Payan
Jorge Payan  Identity Verified
Colombia
Local time: 09:14
Member (2002)
German to Spanish
+ ...
My suggestion Feb 5, 2020

Please refer to: https://www.proz.com/translator-rates-calculator/

Agneta Pallinder
Agneta Pallinder  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:14
Member (2014)
Swedish to English
+ ...
No beginner's rate Feb 5, 2020

Hello Nina,

I also have Swedish in my language pairs and charge €0.10 per word for translation.
I know of others who charge less, and some who charge more. It is not easy.

But, what I really wanted to stress is that you should not charge less per word because you are a beginner. You will still have to produce quality output - but for you as a beginner it will take longer, so your hourly output will be less.

Looking back I can see that I achieved on
... See more
Hello Nina,