Nicholas Isard  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:45
Member (2020)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 27, 2020

Hi everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone has made the move from translating to interpreting. Just out of curiosity, I have just interpreted one of the videos provided by the EU for interpreting practice (one classed as 'very advanced') and found it surprisingly easy. I've been translating full time for the past 8 years and have lived in Spain for 10. I'd say my aural comprehension of Spanish is 95%+.

Has anyone else done this? I really just ask out of interest as I h
... See more
Hi everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone has made the move from translating to interpreting. Just out of curiosity, I have just interpreted one of the videos provided by the EU for interpreting practice (one classed as 'very advanced') and found it surprisingly easy. I've been translating full time for the past 8 years and have lived in Spain for 10. I'd say my aural comprehension of Spanish is 95%+.

Has anyone else done this? I really just ask out of interest as I have a few colleagues from university who have sat the EU and UN exams and thoroughly love it (not that I don't really enjoy translating).

Also, does anyone do both? Obviously not at an institutional level, but as a freelancer?

Cheers,
Nick

[Edited at 2020-04-27 18:41 GMT]
Collapse

Yaotl Altan

Angie Garbarino
Angie Garbarino  Identity Verified
Member (2003)
French to Italian
+ ...
Phone interpretation? Apr 27, 2020

I ask because to be an interpreter in person now is not possible in most areas of the world let alone in Spain.

[Edited at 2020-04-27 18:49 GMT]

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 10:45
Romanian to English
+ ...
Angie & Nicholas, Apr 27, 2020