Thread poster: Christiane Buessard
Christiane Buessard
Christiane Buessard
United States
English to French
+ ...
Nov 25, 2019

Hi there,
I am a freelance medical interpreter who is just starting out (French and Spanish). I have approached the local hospital and they are very much interested and asking for my rates. I am new to this industry and don't want to price myself too high, but not too low either. Do you have any idea how much I should ask per hour? I am located in New Hampshire.
I hope you can help!
Thank you!!!

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:52
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Work it out Nov 26, 2019

Christiane Buessard wrote:

Hi there,
I am a freelance medical interpreter who is just starting out (French and Spanish). I have approached the local hospital and they are very much interested and asking for my rates. I am new to this industry and don't want to price myself too high, but not too low either. Do you have any idea how much I should ask per hour? I am located in New Hampshire.
I hope you can help!
Thank you!!!

My suggestions: work out how much you will need to cover all your costs, including your working time and travel time, and make a fair profit, expressed as an hourly rate. It's important to get this right because it sounds like the kind of work that will last well into the future ! It's better to pitch yourself too high rather than too low.

[Edited at 2019-11-26 16:37 GMT]

Christiane Buessard
Liviu-Lee Roth

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 04:52
Romanian to English
+ ...
Hi Christiane Nov 26, 2019

Christiane Buessard wrote:

Hi there,
I hope you can help!
Thank you!!!

It depends where in the US are you working. Rates differ As a rule, you should charge more for EN-FR than EN-SP. In my area, PA, it is between $35 - 45/hr min 2 hrs. In other places in the US the rate may go up or down, depending on the market.

lee