Should I translate companies addresses? Change formatting?
Thread poster: Lmac
Lmac
Lmac
Poland
Local time: 08:48
English to Polish
+ ...
Aug 3, 2020

Hi,

I'm not very experienced in translating legal documents and thus I have two questions:

1. In case of agreement signed by two parties, should I translate company address or leave it in its original form? For example should I translate city and country name Firenze, Italia as Florence, Italy or leave it unchanged?

2. Should I use font in bold when translating important definitions and expressions like "Parties", "Company" etc.

Thank you very
... See more
Hi,

I'm not very experienced in translating legal documents and thus I have two questions:

1. In case of agreement signed by two parties, should I translate company address or leave it in its original form? For example should I translate city and country name Firenze, Italia as Florence, Italy or leave it unchanged?

2. Should I use font in bold when translating important definitions and expressions like "Parties", "Company" etc.

Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Cheers,
Maciej
Collapse

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 01:48
Dutch to English
+ ...
Translating addresses Aug 3, 2020

If the address is part of a letterhead, I would not translate it. But if, for example, the address is listed in the text for a party in a court case or in an agreement of some kind, I would translate only the city and country, so that people who do not speak the language can understand it.

I'm not sure what you mean by 'change formatting'. Can you give an example?

[Edited at 2020-08-03 15:07 GMT]

Josephine Cassar
expressisverbis
Eduardo Vera Palomino

Yolande Hivart
Yolande Hivart
Austria
Member (2016)
German to French
I do not translate addresses Aug 3, 2020

I was being told not to translate adresses when I prepared the exam for court.