Thread poster: Maya Mitchell (X)
Maya Mitchell (X)
Maya Mitchell (X)
United States
Local time: 02:00
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 25, 2019

"Brenda Owens" ([email protected]) tried to scam me, and it almost worked. I am a foreign language student and a novice translator, so I was probably an easy target. I unfortunately replied to them, and did 21/52 pages requested (I was planning on finishing half before requesting 50% of the price, but now I know to ask for a 50-60% deposit BEFORE I start translating... at least it was good practice for me to do some translating, even if the document itself was poorly formatted and written... See more
"Brenda Owens" ([email protected]) tried to scam me, and it almost worked. I am a foreign language student and a novice translator, so I was probably an easy target. I unfortunately replied to them, and did 21/52 pages requested (I was planning on finishing half before requesting 50% of the price, but now I know to ask for a 50-60% deposit BEFORE I start translating... at least it was good practice for me to do some translating, even if the document itself was poorly formatted and written.) until I stopped to investigate some more before working extra hard to meet their one month deadline. I luckily did not give them any of my information after they kept insisting on paying me with a check, instead of complying with my safer alternative requests.

Here is their email:
I'm pleased to know you are interested in handling this project.However, I will require your service to translate the attached document. In the mean time, could you also confirm your charges per page, per source word or for the entire translation? The deadline for this Project is 1 month starting from 04 JULY-2019.

Finally, what would be your preferred mode of payment? Though I'm proposing a certified bank draft, a cashier check or bank certified check. Please do not hesitate to confirm if this is okay with you? I look forward to reading from you soon.

Best Regards