Online MT Tools and confidentiality
Thread poster: Anmol
Anmol
Anmol
Local time: 17:14
Apr 23, 2013

As a computer engineer, I'm convinced MT has a role to play in translation. I'm equally convinced that machines can never replace human translators, since translation involves language, easily one of mankind's most complex cognitive skills.

I've been trying out some MT tools over the past couple of years. One of the leading tools on the market, which comes with a trial version, turned out not to meet my expectations just yet. The biggest plus was that it could be installed and ru
... See more
As a computer engineer, I'm convinced MT has a role to play in translation. I'm equally convinced that machines can never replace human translators, since translation involves language, easily one of mankind's most complex cognitive skills.

I've been trying out some MT tools over the past couple of years. One of the leading tools on the market, which comes with a trial version, turned out not to meet my expectations just yet. The biggest plus was that it could be installed and run locally off my laptop.

I've tried Google Translate on-line, being careful to translate only sentences or sentence fragments at a time, with all confidential information replaced by fabricated place-holders such as "ABC". I'm quite impressed with Google Translate, and it definitely speeds up the translation process. However, they don't have a downloadable version, and it's clear why they don't, since systems based on the statistical approach feed off a growing on-line corpus by design. Neither does Systran, another leading tool.

Using on-line software such as Google Translate for MT becomes inefficient, since you work one chunk at a time (be it line or paragraph), otherwise you tend to compromise the confidentiality of the text.