What register to use in a tourist translation from English to Spanish, and why?
Thread poster: Nahuel Luciani
Nahuel Luciani
Nahuel Luciani
Argentina
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 29, 2020

I'm a student preparing for a final, I feel that a more formal register, referring to the reader as "usted" is the best choice for this, but I'm having a hard time trying to think of how to justify this in the exam, other than the fact that tourist texts in Spanish are more formal, according to my notes at least.
Alternatively, what do you th
... See more
I'm a student preparing for a final, I feel that a more formal register, referring to the reader as "usted" is the best choice for this, but I'm having a hard time trying to think of how to justify this in the exam, other than the fact that tourist texts in Spanish are more formal, according to my notes at least.
Alternatively, what do you think is the best choice, and why?
https://rove.me/best-places-to-travel this is the original text, if it helps.
Collapse

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 01:48
Dutch to English
+ ...
Suggestion Mar 1, 2020

I think that, in general, a tourism text lends itself well to an informal tone but I don't know how that comes across in Spanish, and it may also depend on what country it is. Have you checked other tourism website in Spanish to see what is most common?

Esteban Ossen
neilmac

Jessica Noyes
Jessica Noyes  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:48
Spanish to English
+ ...
target audience Mar 1, 2020

I think it depends on what country you are writing for. I recently translated to English parts of a tool catalog that had separate translations for three different countries. The one for Argentina used "vos." The ones for Spain and Chile used "tú." There were none for Mexico or Colombia, but if there had been, I think they would use "usted."

Esteban Ossen
neilmac

Esteban Ossen
Esteban Ossen
Argentina
Local time: 04:48
English to Spanish
+ ...