Ute Neumaier
Ute Neumaier  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 11:08
Member (2008)
Spanish to German
+ ...
Aug 6, 2020

Hi, I have been working for three years with Trados on Mac/Parallels and I am really fed up. It always creates unforeseen problems and SDL does not give support for the MAC OS, Parallels gives good support, but still. I would so much like to get rid of the Windows installation on my Mac. Talking to colleagues I heard unfortunately, that Trados is still the CAT Tool, which most of the clients want to work with. I am also working with Wordfast, which is great, but many clients do not use it. So I ... See more
Hi, I have been working for three years with Trados on Mac/Parallels and I am really fed up. It always creates unforeseen problems and SDL does not give support for the MAC OS, Parallels gives good support, but still. I would so much like to get rid of the Windows installation on my Mac. Talking to colleagues I heard unfortunately, that Trados is still the CAT Tool, which most of the clients want to work with. I am also working with Wordfast, which is great, but many clients do not use it. So I wanted to get some recommendations, what else I could use and what is accepted by (many) clients too. I recently heard about the Online Editor for Trados 2021 but speaking to the support, I do not think that it is a good alternative, because for certain cases (like receiving packages) I would still need the desktop version. Is there a tool other than Trados, but which can handle Trados files (to get a kind of workaround, in case that one of my client's insists?) If that does not exist, what is the best alternative in your eyes? I am not looking for a free of charge or especially cheep alternative, but an alternative, which clients will accept and which will run on my Mac. Thanks a lot and looking forward to hearing from you.
Ute
Collapse

Amornrat Friend

Annie Estéphan
Annie Estéphan  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 06:08
Member (2010)