Arabic to English
+ ...
Feb 1, 2009

Hi All,

A client of mine has asked me to render translation in Indesign in

PDF,
Outline, and
Unoutline.

I don't know what is meant by the Outline/'unoutline' file. Sorry guys, I am new to such DTP requests.

Hope that I've chosen the right forum to post!

Roberta Anderson
Roberta Anderson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 02:58
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
"Create Outlines" feature in InDesign to convert text to graphics Feb 2, 2009

Hi Samir

what I think your client means is that he wants a copy of the document exported as it is (what I think he means by "unoutline") as PDF, and another copy exported as PDF after all text has been converted to outline (command: Type > Create Outlines).

What Create Outlines does is convert your text to vector graphics, so that it can be seen and printed also on systems where the font used is not installed. This however may result in thicker-looking text and some fea
... See more
Hi Samir

what I think your client means is that he wants a copy of the document exported as it is (what I think he means by "unoutline") as PDF, and another copy exported as PDF after all text has been converted to outline (command: Type > Create Outlines).

What Create Outlines does is convert your text to vector graphics, so that it can be seen and printed also on systems where the font used is not installed. This however may result in thicker-looking text and some features (like underlining, bullets, rules above or below paragraphs) may be lost.

Another safer way of converting text to graphics (instead of using Create Outline) is described in this article:
http://indesignsecrets.com/converting-text-to-outlines-the-right-way.php

When you create a PDF, the default setting is to allow embedding of all fonts used anyway, so that the file will look OK also if the font is not installed in the viewer's system.

Hope this helps,
Roberta
Collapse

Samir Sami
Samir Sami
Qatar
Local time: 03:58