AAAmedical
AAAmedical  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 10:27
English to Dutch
+ ...
Jun 17, 2003

Hello everybody,

An agency asked me if I wanted to check the test translations freelance translators return to the agency.

I have never done this before and I was wondering if their is a certain (standard) procedure I should follow in order to do this in the best possible way?

How should I charge, by the hour I suppose?

Any suggestions are welcome

Ann

DGK T-I
DGK T-I  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:27
Georgian to English
+ ...
By the hour, as a translation proof reading (with a brief report) Jun 17, 2003

AAAmedical wrote:

Hello everybody,

An agency asked me if I wanted to check the test translations freelance translators return to the agency.

I have never done this before and I was wondering if their is a certain (standard) procedure I should follow in order to do this in the best possible way?

How should I charge, by the hour I suppose?

Any suggestions are welcome

Ann

That's what I would suggest.
With the same approach as for a translation proof reading - not imposing one's own mere preference on satisfactory translation which is just done differently. I don't know if there is a standard, but this seems logical.
The brief report could include reference to satisfactory use of terminology (particularly important in medical work), and suitability of style employed (if it matters in the type of document being translated).
Best wishes
Giuli

My two penny worth (or two laris, well, six actually )

[Edited at 2003-06-17 18:11]

Sven Petersson
Sven Petersson  Identity Verified
Sweden
English to Swedish
+ ...
My way Jun 17, 2003

Hi Ann,

I frequently do it (medical texts only), for three different agencies.

I correct spelling, grammar and terminology only, and give marks (0 – 10) for:

- spelling and grammar
- terminology
- suitability for intended target group
- style

My fee is 35% of my translation fee (calculated per word).

Have fun!