Thread poster: Natalia Ulla
Natalia Ulla
Natalia Ulla  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:33
English to Spanish
May 5, 2015

Hi,

I keep getting this message when trying to save my target document.
"Failed to save target, Object reference not set to an instance of an object"

( Image here: http://s6.postimg.org/6b98c03fh/error.jpg )

I am relatively new to Trados and I know this is a problem with tags in the source document, but I have just finished the whole translation and i
... See more
Hi,

I keep getting this message when trying to save my target document.
"Failed to save target, Object reference not set to an instance of an object"

( Image here: http://s6.postimg.org/6b98c03fh/error.jpg )

I am relatively new to Trados and I know this is a problem with tags in the source document, but I have just finished the whole translation and it won't let me save it. I don't know how to fix it. Does anyone know what I can change in the source document (within the Trados editor) to make this message go away and be able to save the target?

I have already read this post here: http://translationtherapy.com/how-to-solve-an-error-when-trying-to-save-target-document-in-sdl-studio/

But it did not help, as it's too late anyway to do that. The translation is finished and I can't access it!

I am in a rush, I am meant to deliver it in a couple of hours!

Thanks
Collapse

Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Have you tried running Verify? May 5, 2015

You don't say what version you are using. Is it SDL Trados Studio 2014, or some other version of Trados? As you are new, I take it you are using Studio 2014.

If it is, have you run Verify to check that the tags in target agree with the tags in target? If not, that's the first thing I would do. Fiddling with the source document is probably not the way of going, I'm afraid:

- Open the document in the Editor window
- Open the Review tab
- Run Verify (the rightm