Inițiatorul discuției: Natalia Millman
Natalia Millman
Natalia Millman
Local time: 13:47
din engleză în rusă
+ ...
May 29, 2003

Hi,

I am an MSc student in Translation at Imperial College and I am writing a dissertation on Translator’s Ethics.

Much has been told lately about Ethics in theory, therefore I would like to focus on its practical application by translators.

As a part of my research, I would like to ask you few questions about the most important issues every translator faces.

I would appreciate if you help me in my research and share your own ideas about th
... See more
Hi,

I am an MSc student in Translation at Imperial College and I am writing a dissertation on Translator’s Ethics.

Much has been told lately about Ethics in theory, therefore I would like to focus on its practical application by translators.

As a part of my research, I would like to ask you few questions about the most important issues every translator faces.

I would appreciate if you help me in my research and share your own ideas about this issue.

Natalia.

1. Would you like to have an obligatory accreditation exam?
2. Do you think that nowadays there are more translators or professional translators?
3. Under which conditions do you refuse to do a translation job?
4. If a job clashes with your personal beliefs, would you do it?
5. Do you think it is important for a translator to have writing experience?
6. How do you respond when clients treat you badly?
7. Do you think that a job of a translator is that if a secret agent when he/she must keep the information about the job in secret?
8. Do you honour agreements you make· Always· Sometimes· Never
9. What strategy do you use to approach clients?
10. How easily do you share your experience with other translators?11. Do you think that translator’s newsgroups and forums abuse translator’s knowledge because you share too much?
12. What is your bad client experience, if any?