Proofreading
Thread poster: Maria Elena Gaborov Freites
Maria Elena Gaborov Freites
Maria Elena Gaborov Freites  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:51
English to Spanish
Sep 29, 2014

What guidelines do I need to follow to charge for proofreading? I have never done it before and I am a little bit at a loss.
Thank you!

Bernhard Sulzer
Bernhard Sulzer  Identity Verified
United States
English to German
+ ...
A thorough assessment of the work involved will determine your rate Sep 29, 2014

Maria Elena Gaborov Freites wrote:

What guidelines do I need to follow to charge for proofreading? I have never done it before and I am a little bit at a loss.
Thank you!

If the text is so bad that it needs to be re-translated, it will have to cost as much as a translation.
That means the style can be horrible and unidiomatic or there are many grammatical errors and typos combined with poor style (this is important for marketing and other business texts and literary work).

In any case, I always ask for the original text and the translation to judge how good or how bad it is. If it's something that involves less work than the translation, I will do it for a lower but still reasonable rate. But I don't get many excellent texts. Half of a professional translation rate is often quite reasonable.

http://www.proz.com/forum/proofreading_editing_reviewing/272045-how_much_should_i_charge.html#2320522

Have you seen the original text? Is that what you are doing, comparing and "fixing" or are you simply making stylistic changes to a text in the target language without looking at the original?
This will make a big difference but in either case, the quality of the text and the time you figure it will take you will determine your rate/price.
I wouldn't recommend simply charging a third of some translation rate you once charged.

[Edited at 2014-09-29 18:39 GMT]

Rogerio de Moraes
Rogerio de Moraes  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 16:51
English to Portuguese
+ ...