New to Translation Project Management
Thread poster: GM Voices
GM Voices
GM Voices
United States
Local time: 15:49
Feb 11, 2014

Hi, all--

I am new to translation project management. I do not currently translate in any languages (native English speaker), but I am learning Italian and have a rough knowledge of NA Spanish. I work for a small business (project manager-sales, telecommunications) in the United States. We are currently growing our Language Department and becoming an actual translation agency. I have a solid amount of experience working within telecommunications and telematics translations (through
... See more
Hi, all--

I am new to translation project management. I do not currently translate in any languages (native English speaker), but I am learning Italian and have a rough knowledge of NA Spanish. I work for a small business (project manager-sales, telecommunications) in the United States. We are currently growing our Language Department and becoming an actual translation agency. I have a solid amount of experience working within telecommunications and telematics translations (through this company), but we are moving into new sales markets: software and text documents translations.

I am currently learning Trados Studio (2007 & 2011). We are not updating to 2014 because some of our translators use 2007 and apparently the versions are not compatible (I think). We are currently looking for a sales training program to educate our salespeople, and I expect to learn a lot from that, even though I don't work directly in sales (well, kind of--I'm sales support as well).

I am reading the book 'In Other Words: A Coursebook on Translation' by Mona Baker. I am working under the guidance of our Translation Coordinator.

I am looking for new ways to learn about the industry as a non-translator. I have watched many SDL webinars and read many white papers, but I'd like to find ways to learn specifics without it being too overwhelming.