Dércio Bene
Dércio Bene  Identity Verified
Mozambique
Local time: 08:34
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Aug 14, 2022

Hello everyone,
I own a small, local translation agency and I'm new to the translation business. A client has recently requested a translation of 3 documents as part of a visa application to an embassy from English to German to be submitted to a German embassy. I outsourced this job to someone else online, a certified translator with very good reviews, but residing in another country. I'm wondering if you guys have experience with this sort of thing and if the embassy could reject the tran
... See more
Hello everyone,
I own a small, local translation agency and I'm new to the translation business. A client has recently requested a translation of 3 documents as part of a visa application to an embassy from English to German to be submitted to a German embassy. I outsourced this job to someone else online, a certified translator with very good reviews, but residing in another country. I'm wondering if you guys have experience with this sort of thing and if the embassy could reject the translation because of it having been done abroad and without being notarized by someone local. If you have any experience, please let me know what I could do to prevent the embassy from rejecting the translation.

With regards,
Dércio Bene
Collapse

finnword1
finnword1
United States
Local time: 02:34
English to Finnish
+ ...
Be careful Aug 14, 2022

You are ultimately responsible for the translation, not you outsourced translator.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
expressisverbis
Jorge Payan

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Dércio Aug 15, 2022

Dércio Bene wrote:
I own a small, local translation agency and I'm new to the translation business. A client has recently requested a translation of 3 documents as part of a visa application to an embassy from English to German to be submitted to a German embassy.