Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Non VAT registered UK writer contracting Spanish translator VAT?
Thread poster: HankCannon
HankCannon
HankCannon
United Kingdom
Sep 15, 2014

Hi everyone,

I've read a few of the posts on here about contracting of services in the EU, but I'm still unclear.

I'm a UK based writer, self employed but not VAT registered, and I would like to pay someone in Spain to translate my books for me. Apparently they need my VAT number before they can invoice me. Does anyone know whether I need to provide this, or whether there is something she can put on the invoice so she doesn't have to charge me VAT? ... See more
Hi everyone,

I've read a few of the posts on here about contracting of services in the EU, but I'm still unclear.

I'm a UK based writer, self employed but not VAT registered, and I would like to pay someone in Spain to translate my books for me. Apparently they need my VAT number before they can invoice me. Does anyone know whether I need to provide this, or whether there is something she can put on the invoice so she doesn't have to charge me VAT?

TIA

Hank
Collapse

Tim Drayton
Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 04:13
Turkish to English
+ ...
I think you have to pay VAT Sep 15, 2014

I can't speak for Spain, but I am VAT registered in Cyprus, and my accountants here tell me that I must add VAT when billing non-VAT registered clients in other EU countries. I think you have to pay VAT.

HankCannon
HankCannon
United Kingdom
TOPIC STARTER
in response Sep 15, 2014

Tim, thank you for your help. I need to know specifics about Spain and the UK as the UK has a threshold before paying VAT. Is anyone else in this situation or have specific experience? The Spanish authorities have told my translator that she needs a VAT number from me, so I know what they are asking for, but I'm not entirely sure this is the case with the threshold being as it is in the UK.

Michael Wetzel
Michael Wetzel  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:13