Thread poster: Jpinosil
Jpinosil
Jpinosil  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 24, 2014

How much linguistics knowledge should one bring to (1) translation and (2) Interpretation practice? Would for instance knowing the difference between Sintax and Pragmatics help to read the source text and write and revise the target text? For those out there who do not have linguistics training, do you feel there is a need for investing time in said training?

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 20:20
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Grammar vs. Linguistics Apr 24, 2014

I studied both Turkish and English grammar when I was in high school in Turkey. Unfortunately, I forgot most of that information. It may still be in my subconscious though. Other than that, I have not studied linguistics. Since I have not studied it, it is hard for me to guess whether linguistics is helpful or not. However, my instinct tells me that it is not really helpful. Therefore, I currently do not think of investing in linguistics training.

jyuan_us
jyuan_us  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:20
Member (2005)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Linguistics could be helpful but Apr 24, 2014

it might not be more helpful than sociology, psychology or Anthropology to a translator. Lack of training in Linguistics would not prevent someone from becoming a great translator. Some knowledge in Pragmatics might make a translator be more aware of social context but the translators who have no idea about what Pragmatics is could still translate very well.

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 01:20
Chinese to English
Linguistics is a big field Apr 25, 2014